A Taste of Something New

4 Jun

I was totally prepared to post my summer bucket list in Holly’s linkup, but, unfortunately, some things got in the way and I just couldn’t get to it. I will say that I’m already checking off a few things on my bucket list. I did take B to this summer’s first session of story hour at our local library.

Another thing on my bucket list is to try to cook at least one new recipe each week. During the school year, I hate cooking after I get home.  I try to sling something together just to get the job done.  One of my favorite things about summer is that I get my love of cooking back.  I thoroughly enjoy working away in the kitchen with a good adult beverage and some tunes blaring throughout the house.

image

I decided to use my extra time this summer to find some yummy new recipes to add to my rotation once school gets started this fall. Of course, I immediately went to Pinterest. Here are the things I’ve tried so far.

The first thing I made is Bacon Ranch Potatoes. These were easy and went really well with  pepper stuffed bacon wrapped turkey that Chris was cooking in the picture above. I added some onion slices to the foil pouch as well and we loved the flavor. Next time I make these I will leave them in the oven for about an hour so that they’ll be good and tender.

image

The next thing I tried was a hit. I used Oikos Plain Greek yogurt instead since it was on sale, but we’ve already gone through two batches of this awesome, healthier version of ranch veggie dip. Bennett and I have been devouring carrot sticks and sliced red bell pepper thanks to this concoction. I even added a small amount to a veggie packed breakfast scramble, which gave it a great flavor and creamier texture.

image

I tried two more recipes tonight. The first is roasted Brussels sprouts. I didn’t follow this recipe to a T. I used frozen Brussels sprouts and garlic powder instead of onion powder because that’s what I had on hand. They were ok, but not something that will be a frequent flier in our kitchen.

image

Our main dish ended up being really good though.  I used frozen uncooked shrimp instead of fresh, but otherwise followed the recipe. Bennett wasn’t a big fan of the shrimp, but I think the flavor was just a little too strong for him. Chris ate his weight in every shrimp that was left in the pan. He thought they were very similar to shrimp scampi. This was super simple to put together and will definitely show up on our table again.

image

If you’d like to see more on these recipes or what I might be cooking up next, follow me on Pinterest.

I’ll keep you posted on my next ventures in the kitchen this summer. Do you have any suggestions for me to try?

Jaime

One Response to “A Taste of Something New”

  1. I can use some more recipes really badly neith summer we are killing out the grill. ; )

Leave a Reply

