You Ran How Far?

7 Apr

I ran a half marathon. That’s 13.1 miles! Nope, nevermind. Just kidding, but I have a couple cousins/friends (Lora and Laura) that are running one this weekend and since I didn’t have a hilarious opening to this post like I did last Saturday when I started working on it, I had to get your attention somehow.  Check out their posts on Monday. I’m sure Laura will have some ridiculously awesome finish time to share with us and Lora will have a hilarious story about her experience (hopefully she’ll stop for a drink instead of drowning like last time).

I’ve been promising to fill you in on the 5K that I ran two Saturdays ago.. You might have started to think that I was procrastinating because I didn’t finish. Not the case. There have just been other things I wanted to tell you about and I couldn’t manage to get it in a post with something else (my posts are long enough already).

This was my first 5K in a very long time and I had been running faithfully leading up to it, so I was super excited and a little bit nervous. The last organized race I ran (where they actually timed it) was in July 2008.  I finished in just under 37 minutes. I had also been training for that race, was almost 5 years younger, and hadn’t carried an 8+ pound baby. I had set my goal at beating that time, so I had in my mind that I could set a personal record for sure if I could finish under 36 minutes.

I decided to do the Get Your Rear in Gear 5K because my mom has been battling colon cancer since last spring. Last year, she spent her 50th birthday in the hospital after having surgery to remove an apple core tumor from her colon. She has made it through a rough year and had her 51st birthday yesterday. She is currently undergoing her second round of chemo, so she did spend her birthday night in bed, but she is doing well and I’m confident that she’ll be good to go by her 52nd birthday next April.

My mom has an amazing group of friends that pulled together to organize our team and help raise money to promote colorectal health and early detection. Our team, Bad Case of the Runs, had about 40 people and raised over $1,400.

Race day
This is just a few of her friends that I was able to snap a picture of before the race.

Race day 3
Me, my brother (Hunter), and future SIL (Timorie)

Race day 2
My gym partner, Ashley, who earned herself a boot for six weeks just days before the race (obviously she’s a very determined [and crazy] friend)

Race day 5
Timorie, Hunter, me, and my mom

I ended up finishing the race in 33 minutes, which I was extremely excited about. We had a great time and raised money for a great cause. I can’t wait to run it again next year.

If you haven’t entered the giveaway for $700 in J. Crew, Target, and Sephora gift cards, you better spring into action since it will be ending Sunday night at 11:59.

Thanks for reading,
Jaime

 

4 Responses to “You Ran How Far?”

  1. Laura @ Walking in Memphis in High Heels April 7, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    You’re so sweet. That time is amazing! I am so so proud of you!!

    • jaimebyram April 8, 2013 at 7:32 pm #

      Thank you! Can’t wait to hear your results.

  2. lora April 10, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    so I’m a little behind on my reading….but great time! way to go! and I can’t believe how much you and Hunter look alike! we need to find a 5k to do together soon….well, if I ever recover from the 13.1…which is not looking good. 🙂

    • jaimebyram April 10, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

      I’ve been playing catch-up too. I think I still have an Easter post to finish. You’ll be ready to run before you know it and we’ll have to find one to sign-up for!

Leave a Reply

