Nom Nom + Weigh-in Wednesday

3 Apr

No, that was not the sound of me eating. That title came from the TWO award nominations that I’ve received.  I’ll get to those in a second, but first I need to remind you to enter the giveaway for the three awesome gift cards that total $700 and tell you about my progress in the weight loss department this week.

Weigh-in Wednesday

For the past two Wednesdays, I have told you about gains (first 1/2 pound, then 2 1/2 pounds).  This morning I was down 2 pounds from last week, which leaves me just a pound up from the weight I’d gotten down to.

That’s not too bad considering that I have been on spring break for a week (eating and snacking whenever I want), had three Easter feasts, and three Easter baskets.  We also had pizza last night (gasp! the night before a weigh-in) because I was exhausted after our second grade field trip.  I’m just happy to not have a third week of gain logged in the books.

Now back to the nomination part of my post title.

I received my first nomination from Laura a couple of months ago and had some trouble completing the requirements because I was new to the blogosphere as a reader and writer, so it slipped to the back of my mind and was forgotten until I received the second nomination from Wendy this week.

image
The Rules:
1. You must post 11 random things about yourself.
2.  Answer the questions that the nominator set for you.
3.   Create 11 questions for the people you nominate.
4.  Choose 11 blogs you love (with less than 200 followers) and link them in your post.
5.  No tag back (but please leave me a comment on this post with the URL to your Liebster post so I can learn more about you)!

The Nominees:

1. Aleasa at Happy Life
2. Annabelle at The Carolina Country Girl
3. Wendy at The Sweet Life of Second Grade
4. Rachel at Cupcakes and Horseshoes
5. Terri at Peace, Love, & Applesauce
6. Laura at Serrano Style
7. Shelli at Beauty and the Baseball Coach
8. Nicole at The Greatest of These is Love
9. Rach at This Italian Family
10. Alicia at Brew Mama
11. Less at Less of Less

Random Things:

1. I prefer doing things on the right side of my body first (putting on socks, painting fingernails, etc.).
2. Football is my favorite sport (Go Vols).
3. I love fashion, but don’t think I’m very good at styling things.
4. I live on the same road as my mother, grandparents, and several aunts, uncles, and cousins.
5. I attended/graduated from the University of Memphis, which I said I’d never do.
6. I was a broadcasting and communications major before I switched to education because I wanted to be a news anchor.
7. I like even numbers and hate thinking that I chewed food more on one side of my mouth than the other (strange, I know).
8. When I was pregnant, I craved McDonald’s french fries, lemons and limes, the spiciest food I could find, and sweets.
9. I have three earrings in my left ear and two in my right.
10. I can not stand to see orange and black or red and green together unless it is Halloween or Christmas.
11. For several years in college, I was a hippie and would sew and sell purses and bags to help pay for our expenses as we travelled around to see the bands we liked.

My 11 Questions:

1.  What is your favorite color? Probably blue depending on what you’re talking about
2.  Why did you start blogging and how long have you been doing it? I started on New Year’s Day this year to help keep me accountable for my goals and to help me document my family’s life more.
3.  What do you do for a living? I teach second grade
4.  If you could live anywhere, where would it be? As long as my family and friends were there, I’d pick either the beach or a mountain.
5.  Dogs or cats? Dogs
6.  What are your favorite hobbies? Reading, watching tv, eating, being around/on a body of water, spending time with my family and friends, crafts
7.  What did you want to be when you grew up as a child? a teacher or a nurse
8.  What is your favorite food? too many to choose
9.  What is your go-to outfit that you end up wearing most? For work, pants from New York & Co. (7th Avenue Stretch I think), casual would be jeans and a t-shirt with flip flops
10.  Flats or heels? Love heels, but I’d much rather be comfy
11.  What’s your favorite indulgence (whether it be soap operas, desserts or pedicures)? A comfortable pair of pajamas, fried peanut butter and jelly sandwich, a glass of milk, and a good movie
Your 11 Questions:
1. Baked or fried?
2. Iced or hot coffee?
3.  What was your first car?
4.  If you could go back to high school, would you ? Why?
5. Do you like to wear hats? What kind?
6. Night owl or early bird?
7. What is your favorite part of your body?
8. What is your strangest quirk?
9. What scares you the most?
10. What’s your favorite holiday? Why?
11. How did you meet your best friend?
Now for the second nomination.
Sisterhood award
The Rules:
1. Post a thanks and link back to the blogger who gave it to you.
2. Provide 7 little known and/or interesting facts about yourself.
3. Pass the award on to 7 other bloggers of your choice who you feel promote the “sisterhood” of bloggers and let them know they have been nominated.
4. Include the award logo in your post or on your blog.
7 Little Known/Interesting Facts About Me:
1.  My husband was my boyfriend in third grade.
2. I had a Motorola Razr for almost 5 years and cried when I got an iPhone.
3. I can eat more biscuits and gravy than my husband.
4. I could eat cheese dip for dinner most any night of the week.
5. I don’t care for margaritas (I know, it’s tragic isn’t it).
6. I fell down a flight of stairs in college when the heel of my shoe broke and had to hobble the rest of the way to the car, which took about 20 minutes, and then hobble faster from one concrete divider to another because the blacktop was burning blisters on my feet. Where are your friends when that kinda stuff happens?!?
7. My belly button is so deep I can almost put my pinky in up to the second knuckle (crazy huh?).
7 Bloggers I Feel Promote the “Sisterhood”:
5. Elle Noel at Elle Noel
Thank you to both Laura and Wendy for the nominations!
And that, my friends, is the world’s longest blog post.
Thanks for reading,
Jaime
8 Responses to “Nom Nom + Weigh-in Wednesday”

  1. Rach @ This Italian Family April 4, 2013 at 1:45 am #

    Thanks for the nomination! 🙂 Also, we have the same number of earrings in each ear! 🙂

    • jaimebyram April 4, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

      My students always think it’s so crazy.

  2. Alicia@Brew Mama April 4, 2013 at 3:02 am #

    Thank you for the nomination.. And I just ate some sausage cheese dip for dinner. lol

    • jaimebyram April 4, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      With sausage? You managed to squeeze in an extra food group. It’s got to be healthy right?

  3. Laura @ Walking in Memphis in High Heels April 4, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    You are so sweet Jaime!! I really can’t wait to get together again soon! Will you be coming to the Redbirds game? I don’t think I realized y’all dates in third grade. That is so sweet! ; )

    • jaimebyram April 4, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      I’m not sure about the Redbirds game. It depends on when I finish the cake I have scheduled.

  4. Annabelle April 4, 2013 at 2:38 pm #

    Thanks For the nomination! I’ll post about it tomorrow!

    • jaimebyram April 4, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

      You deserve it. I just love your blog and can’t wait to read your random facts!

Leave a Reply

