Making a Campout Room

2 Apr

My sweet baby boy, who turned 4 yesterday, requested only one thing for his birthday…a big boy bed in a big boy room.  Of course I knew I was going to get him a few other things, but I also wanted to make him a really cool big boy room that he would LOVE.

His old room had a sailboat/island/monkey theme to it and had a toddler bed, which he refused to sleep in.  I forgot to take “true” before pictures, but I did remember to snap a few before I finished taking everything down.

old room 2

Old room 1

old room 3

old room 4

He loves the outdoors so we decided to make him a campout room.  The only thing he specifically requested was camo bedding (I’m not a huge fan of camo, but I live in the country and wanted to make him happy).

I came up with the idea of painting trees on the walls and building some type of three-dimensional tent over the bed.  Chris thought I was crazy when I mentioned the tent, but he ended up coming up with a great design that was much more practical than what described.

new room 1

Notice the great orange sheets

(but ignore the awfully wrinkled bed skirt that needed to be ironed)

new room 3

Overestimated the size of my space, so I had to improvise the left side of the tree (and the super cluttered toy box that still has paint supplies sitting on it)

new room 2

Awesome shelf that Chris scored for free at work and I painted (for TOO many hours)

I’d still like to add a few more details, such as painting in some wildlife and purchasing some coordinating baskets for the shelving unit, but those things can wait for a while.

We revealed the room Sunday night, so Bennett could wake up in his new room on his birthday, and he absolutely loved it.

What do you think about Bennett’s new campout room?  Got any ideas for additions?

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

 

4 Responses to “Making a Campout Room”

  1. Laura @ Walking in Memphis in High Heels April 3, 2013 at 2:38 am #

    That is so cool! I bet he loves that! Could you imagine having something like that when we were kids?!

    • jaimebyram April 3, 2013 at 10:02 am #

      Thank you. I can only imagine all the fun I’d have. He loves being under the tent and wants to play everything up there. It took a few minutes to explain why Jenga just wasn’t going to work on the bed.

  2. Janessa April 3, 2013 at 4:02 pm #

    It looks SO good. I love the tent style canopy over his bed and the trees look great! What a fun room and a great Bday present! Hey, email me at janessa1020@gmail.com and I will send you a bunco flyer.

Leave a Reply

