Right Tunes at the Right Time

19 Mar

I’ve been feeling a little defeated because I’m battling one heck of a chest cold, which has pretty much brought my workouts to a standstill since last week.  I tried to run Friday night, but was only able to manage a slow jog for about 1/4 mile before I decided to turn around and go back home.  It just hurt too bad.

After a couple days rest, I was able to run about two of my three miles without stopping.  This made me feel better because I have a 5K this weekend for colon cancer.  If you’re in the Memphis area and haven’t signed up for the Get Your Rear in Gear 5K yet, you better hurry.  The last day to preregister is Wednesday, March 20th.  If you don’t already have a team, join me on “Bad Case of the Runs”.  I’m running in honor of my mom and I’m determined to run the whole thing.

Today started out kinda rough as far as the running went.  I put on the jacket I usually run in only to realize it was still damp from yesterday’s run.  I stepped out the door to 36 degrees of pure cold and wind.  When I got going, my fingers were frozen and my legs were numb, but by the time I got to my second mile, I was warmed up enough to feel comfortable (as long as my hands were tucked in my sleeves).

Pandora played a lot of music that kept me trucking on, but this one made me think of many of the reasons I’m running in the first place.

You know I like my chicken fried

A cold beer on a Friday night

A pair of jeans that fit just right

And the radio up

I heard this song by the Zac Brown Band this morning while running in pitch black.  It fit me just right.  I love good food, a beer on Friday, Saturday, holidays, bad days, and good days, I want my jeans to fit just right and I love to get in the zone while jamming out to some good tunes.

I was able to bust out about 3 1/2 miles and ran right around 3.1 just to show myself that I’ll be able to hang on Saturday.  I felt great after that and started my work day out with a bang.

Now I’m about to go home, grab some dinner, and maybe dive into a second run for the day or maybe a trip to the gym (I do have to weigh-in tomorrow).

I’m always looking for a new song to add to my playlist. What songs do you hear during a workout that help get you going?

Three days until my spring break officially begins.  Happy Tuesday y’all!

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

One Response to “Right Tunes at the Right Time”

  1. LB (@LauraandShane) March 19, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

    Shane brought home fried chicken tonight. = ( Fail! I hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

