The Power of Planning + Wednesday Weigh-in

13 Mar

I know it’s Wednesday, but I guess my mind and body are craving Friday because this morning when I put Bennett on the bus I told his driver and assistant to have a good weekend.  Guess I jumped the gun a little…bummer!

button

I’m linking up with Erin and Alex for my weigh-in again this week and I must say that this week was much more successful than last week, which surprised the heck out of me. I was happy with losing that 1/2 pound last week, but that’s not really going to get me where I want to be in time for shorts and bikinis.  It definitely kicked me back into gear.

This has been a challenging week.  Why?  Because I wasn’t prepared.

Goal Fail

I didn’t go to the grocery store because I had a small amount of many ingredients and I was trying to use them up.  So, my ingredients were a little random and very scarce.  I didn’t have any “healthy snacks” which ended up being the thing that harmed me in the long run.

I would dig through the refrigerator looking for ingredients to throw into a smoothie that wouldn’t push me over my sugar and calorie count for the day.  Instead of eating fruits, veges, soy crisps, and protein bars as a snack, I dove into the boys’ chips and trail mix.  Since I was eating a decent breakfast and lunch, I was starving by the time I got home.  I didn’t have any meals planned out so getting dinner going took so long that I couldn’t wait.  I really felt like I was not going to have good results this week, but  I was happy to see a 2 1/2 pound loss when I got on the scale this morning.  That brings me to a grand total of 12 1/2 pounds since the end of January!

Goal Wish

Source

Even though my results for the week were great, I still think I need to come up with a plan to keep the bad choices from this week from happening again.

Goal Start

Source

My Plan for a Plan:

1.  Check the weekly ads and any coupons I have for deals that I want to grab up each week.  Check the grocery store on days when foods are marked down to Manager’s Special (found a great piece of salmon last night for about $3.00).

2.  Make a menu for the week so that I have an idea of what meals I’m prepared to cook.  Plan for the nights that I KNOW I won’t want to cook (late nights at work or days that I have to go in early).

3.  Make sure to have snacks at work so that I’m not tempted to eat something that’s less than healthy.

4.  Have any meats that I’ll be cooking thawed to cut down on prep time.

5.  Have a general idea what nights/mornings I will be working out.  Always shoot for 4  and hope to get in more.

Hopefully, if I follow these steps, I’ll have a better chance of being successful.

Have you ever failed at something because you weren’t prepared?  Do you plan anything to help with your diet success?

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

 

3 Responses to “The Power of Planning + Wednesday Weigh-in”

  1. Lora March 14, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    wow, you are doing awesome!!! I wish I could get it together…but right now I do awesome one week and then awful the next. it’s an endless cycle!

  2. Laura March 15, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    Wow that is so great Jaime!

Leave a Reply

