The Southern Women’s Show

12 Mar

Good afternoon everybody!  I am in a great mood because I just figured out how to create a grab button for my blog.  You can see it over there —->.  I’d love for you to add it to your blog and I’d be glad to put you on mine too.

I told you I’d fill you in on my experience at the Southern Women’s Show this weekend, so I took lots of pictures and have a few links for you too.

I was contacted a few weeks ago by the Social Media Coordinator with The Balancing Act, which is the morning show on Lifetime Television.  I was super excited because I have spent my fair share of weekend days curled up on the couch crying my eyes out over a sappy Lifetime movie.

They basically wanted some local bloggers to come out and spend some time with the crew and their fellow sponsors for the Women’s Show.

My mom and I decided to make the trek down to the Agricenter a little early so that we’d be sure to make it on time.  Thank goodness we did because parking was a nightmare and once we got inside, it took us a few minutes to find where we were supposed to be.

Me and Mom 2

Quick photo op before the taping began

Bal Act Stage

The set before taping started

First, we settled in as audience members for a segment of the show, which is scheduled to air on April 16th.  During this segment, Danielle, the host, was interviewing a representative of Peer Power, which is an organization in Memphis that hires high-performing students to tutor struggling students.  Apparently, this has been a very successful program, which got me excited since I’m a teacher.  The guest was a little nervous, but she did a great job of bringing awareness to her program.

Dan and Guest

The host, Danielle, and her guest from Peer Power

I will never view shows with live audiences the same.  We were coached to clap, smile, and nod.  So if you happen to catch the episode in April and you see me looking like a total dork, blame it on the crew.  That couldn’t possibly be my real personality:).

Next, Claudia from the Balancing Act crew, who was uber nice, showed us around the pavilion, introduced us to some reps from businesses that were co-sponsoring the event, and treated us to some drinks and snacks.

My two favorite sponsors were Verizon Wireless and Play Pretty Beauty which is a skin care line that was developed by Danielle Knox (the host of The Balancing Act).  I enjoyed the Verizon booth because I learned about many new FREE apps that were awesome.  Play Pretty was great too because Danielle came off set to talk to the bloggers about her skin care line and let us sample some wonderful smelling lotions and soaps.

Some of the cool apps I learned about:

Cozi: a very cool family organization tool

Trip Master:  helps keep up with mileage (for those of us whose husbands claim mileage on their taxes)

Fooducate:  One of my favorites!  Scan the barcode on grocery items and it will rank them with a score to let you know the true nutritional value.  Learned A LOT.

Cam Card:  digital rolodex that will scan your business cards and documents with your phone and make them searchable

Charity Miles:  My FAVORITE!  Sign in, log your miles (jogging, biking, etc), corporate sponsors pay $$$ for your mileage to reputable charities.

On top of all the cool stuff I learned, The Balancing Act hooked us up with all kinds of freebies.  Who wouldn’t love that?!?

Before we left, my mom and I decided to do a bit of shopping.  I scored this cute pair of earrings from a store called Blind Tiger Creek.  They had lots of great jewelry at very reasonable prices.

Earrings

I also met up with some of my blog friends that I met at the our Memphis Blogger Meet Up a few weeks ago.

image

Check out Jen Marie and Bekah!

Have you ever been to a live taping of a show?

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

4 Responses to “The Southern Women’s Show”

  1. peaceloveterri March 12, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    Looks like a blast! I was so bummed I couldn’t make it. :o(

    • jaimebyram March 13, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

      Wish you could have. I know you would have loved shopping at all the booths!

    • Colleen @ Parties & Cardis March 14, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

      Me too!!!!

      Hope you are enjoying your spring break 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Laura March 15, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    Looks like y’all had a great time! Hate I couldn’t be there with y’all.

Leave a Reply

