What’s Up Your Butt?

28 Feb

That sounds awful. I know, but it is on one of my favorite colon cancer t-shirts. I’ve got a sick sense of humor.

Colon tshirt

 

 

You can find it here.

Why do I care about colon cancer?  My mom was diagnosed early last year and has been bravely battling it ever since.  She went in for testing and the doctor found an apple core tumor that was in her colon and was working its way through the wall.  She quickly had surgery, spent her 50th birthday in the hospital, and began chemo.  She finished her chemo in October and, in just the last couple of months, has gotten back to herself.  She basically has all of her energy back and is now wig free.  She recently had some more scans done and they have decided to begin another shortened round of chemo.  She is in high spirits and we are very confident that she’s got this beat.

I didn’t know a lot about colon cancer before my mom was diagnosed because that’s just not one of the types of cancer that we hear a lot about.  I mean who wants to talk freely about that area of their body?  And who on Earth would be excited about some of those probing tests?

More people should know about it though.  According to the CDC, it is the second leading cause of cancer-related deaths in the U.S.  I want to know more about it, not only because my mom is battling it,  but because I am now at an increased risk for getting it.  In fact, most doctors recommend getting a colonoscopy by age 50, but my mom’s doctor suggests that my brother and I get one no later than age 35.

If you would like to find out more information, you can go here.

There is a series of races to raise money for and awareness of colon cancer.  It is called Get Your Rear In Gear.  March is Colon Cancer Awareness Month so this is the perfect time for a 5K.  Memphis will be having a Get Your Rear In Gear race on March 23rd.  I am planning on running this race and would like to get as many people as possible to join me.  If you are interested in this race or finding a race in your area of the country, you can find more information about the series here.

Let me know if you sign up.  I would love to see you there!

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

 

3 Responses to “What’s Up Your Butt?”

  1. Lora February 28, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    What a GREAT shirt! I really want to sign up for this race….but it is on K&A’s bday! so I won’t really know until the last minute if I am going to do it or not.

  2. Laura February 28, 2013 at 10:53 pm #

    If I end up doing that one I’ll definitely let you know!! I’m doing one the day before. Where is it at?

    • jaimebyram March 1, 2013 at 1:06 am #

      It’s at Overton Park. Hope to see you there, but I know you’ll be tired, especially if you set a new PR the day before:)

Leave a Reply

