Memphis Bloggers Meet-up

25 Feb

On Friday, I told you about a dinner that I planned to go to with a bunch of fellow bloggers from Memphis.  I was really excited and nervous all at the same time.  I was nervous because a) I haven’t been blogging very long,  b) I hadn’t met most of these people in real life, and c) I was driving somewhere that I’ve never been…in the dark.

Laura had suggested that I bring a cake to serve after dinner.  She was putting together some goodie bags and I was happy to do my part to make this party fun.  I worked on the cake on and off throughout the day Saturday.  I got it done, completed a quick workout with Jillian, and jumped in the shower just in time to make it to my MIL’s house on time.

I thought I knew just about where the restaurant was, but just to be sure, I called my brother for some more extensive directions.  He told me exactly how to get there, but then I started to panic that I might miss my turn, so I entered the address in the maps app on my phone.  This led me right to where I needed to go, except for the part where it took me through ALL kinds of ghetto.  Apparently apps don’t check the neighborhoods out before they direct you through the area.  Thankfully, my truck didn’t break down and no one approached my vehicle at any red lights because I was gritting my teeth so hard I may have had to make an emergency stop at the oral surgeon.

I arrived with minutes to spare, which is awesome for me because, no matter how hard I try, I am usually at least a few minutes late.

We met at the Local Gastropub on Madison Avenue, which I had never been to before. I had looked the place up on Google to try to get an idea about the atmosphere, menu, and dress code.  I was able to get a coupon which saved me 50% off an appetizer.  Score!!!

The restaurant had the most amazing vibe.  There were several groups there, including a bachelorette party and an engagement party.  Our server was extremely friendly and helpful. Laura and another blogger, Bekah, had arrived early to put out some cute decorations.

Blog sign

Shortly after everyone arrived, Laura showered us with not one, but three goodie bags. The first was donated by a local skin care company.  The bag included a body scrub that smelled wonderful and a great lip moisturizer.  The second was filled with Mary Kay samples.  The third was from a boutique in Collierville and had one of those adorable ponytail holders that won’t leave dents in your hair.

Goodies

We started off with a couple of appetizers for the table.  My end of the table ended up with the calamari.  I would venture to say that it was the best calamari I’ve had before.  I could have eaten the entire plate, but that wouldn’t look very good for my manners or my scale the next day.

Calimari

I decided to go with an appetizer for my meal as well.  I ordered the Lobster Tacos.  The dish had large pieces of lobster, charred tomato relish, avocado, and jalapeno aioli queso fresco (not exactly sure what that is, but I know what jalapeno and queso mean and this sauce was incredible).  I would definitely order this again.  I didn’t hear one complaint from any of the ladies in the group.  I think everyone enjoyed their food.

Lobster tacos 2

After dinner, I served up pieces of the cake I made.  I was just a little proud of my cake design because the bright colors tied in well with the cute decorations on the table and  I haven’t done a lot of cakes with some of these techniques before.  Everyone seemed to like the cake.  I took about two bites and was done because I had stared, smelled, and worked on it all day.

Cake 2

My favorite part about the whole night was that I got to meet a bunch of really great women.

I caught up with an old friend…

image

And met many new friends.

image

image

We talked and laughed and compared the many ways that our lives are the same and different.  I had a great time and can’t wait to do it again sometime.

Hope you had a great weekend too!

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

 

15 Responses to “Memphis Bloggers Meet-up”

  1. Rach @ This Italian Family February 25, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

    I really enjoyed getting to meet you! You did a wonderful job on that cake! It was so beautiful! 🙂

    • jaimebyram February 26, 2013 at 2:57 am #

      Ditto! I’m glad I got to sit next to someone as nice as you. Hope to see you again sometime.

  2. Colleen February 25, 2013 at 11:44 pm #

    That cake was not only beautiful, but SOOO delicious!!!!! 🙂

  3. peaceloveterri February 26, 2013 at 3:47 am #

    that cake was the bomb dot com.
    so, so happy to meet you.. i had the best time!
    can’t wait til we all do it again!

  4. Laura February 26, 2013 at 5:31 am #

    I’m thinking I should have snuck home a piece but then again it’s probably good I didn’t. It was so good and thank you so much for bringing it!!!! So good to see you!!

  5. Lora February 26, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    I’m so jealous that I missed out on this event! I know it was soo much fun!

    • jaimebyram February 27, 2013 at 2:59 am #

      You definitely have to come next time!

  6. Misty February 26, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    The cake was gorgeous AND delicious. It was so nice to meet you. I had a blast. And I’m glad you made it home safely! 🙂

    • jaimebyram February 27, 2013 at 3:01 am #

      It was great meeting you. You better believe I avoided the interstate…and the hood:)

  7. Jennifer Weaver February 26, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    That cake was the bomb.com! So glad to have met you!

    • jaimebyram February 27, 2013 at 3:02 am #

      Thank you. I’m glad you were able to make it!

  8. Laura February 26, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

    ok, i didn’t know anything about this event and i’m totally ok with that, but i’m might totally hit you up next time i need a cake!!! excellent job!!
    i love finding new blogs from memphis!

    • Laura February 26, 2013 at 6:22 pm #

      i might…not i’m.
      helps to proof, sorry!

    • jaimebyram February 27, 2013 at 3:04 am #

      You’ll have to join us next time. I love reading new blogs too and the meet up was so cool because we actually got to see these wonderful ladies’ faces in person.

Leave a Reply

