Presidential Playdates

19 Feb

Today was the closer to our 3 day weekend. That’s ok though because Bennett and I packed it full of fun and friends.  It works out perfectly that two of my best friends have boys who are some of B’s best friends and the moms just so happen to be another teacher who has the same schedule as me and a nurse that works the weekend night shift.

I woke up bright and early this morning at around 6:30. This isn’t my typical bright and early, but it is for a day off.  Bennett slept in until around 8:00 so I had time to sip a couple cups of coffee and do some major pinning on one of my favorite websites Pinterest.  I found a good recipe for an easy and nutritious breakfast, which I will be sharing tomorrow.

I realized that my friend Ashley, who is one of my oldest and dearest friends and was my maid of honor, had liked my blog post from last night on Facebook so she must be another crazy teacher that woke up early on her day off. I sent her a message to see if she’d like to get the boys together for some playtime .

Once she finished her grocery shopping and my little lazy bones rose from the dead, she headed over with her hilarious son. He has loved B’s toy guitar since B’s birthday party last April and he had not forgotten because as soon as he walked in the door, he exclaimed, “Can I play your rock guitar Bennett?” That is just what he did. He rocked out a lot while they were here visiting. The boys had a great time and Ashley and I had time to catch up and share some of our diet and exercise successes since she is on the mission as well. She also brought over her copy of Jillian’s 30 Day Shred for me to borrow.  I was super excited because I have seen tons of people talking about Jillian and her sweatfest.

image

After they left, Bennett and I scored some lunch in the form of leftovers. I cleaned up, did a bit of laundry, and soon received a text from my friend Jennifer, who had just woken up after her last late night shift of the weekend. She is married to one of the guys I grew up with and is what I like to think of as an inherited friend because we met through her hubs and became fast friends. I just love spending time with her. We had planned on meeting at a park so we could walk and the boys could play, but by then it had started to rain. We decided it would be less cleanup for everyone if we just met at McDonald’s and let the boys run wild for a little while.

image

This turned out to be a wonderful idea. The boys had a great time playing with each other and many other children who were also enjoying the indoor playground. J caught me up on her recent vacation and showed me a recipe book that she is currently using on her mission. It was a Hungry Girl cookbook (sorry I don’t remember the exact name) and featured hundreds of yummy recipes for under 350 calories.  I took a couple of pictures with my phone so I could try some of the recipes.

A few that caught my eye:

Ragin’ Cajun Shrimp 226 calories

Nutty Caramel-Coated Sticky Buns (which she said are wonderful) 169 calories

Shrimpylicious Egg Rolls 99 calories

The Crab Rangoonies 140 Calories

Spicy Bacon-Stuffed Cheesy Mushrooms 53 calories

There were tons of recipes for every meal and course. I’ve tried one of this author’s recipes from a magazine before and loved it so I can’t wait to get to work on some of these. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

After we came home, I got to work on some tacos using ground turkey. My husband was not thrilled that I “forced” him into this healthy choice, but he did eat one hard and one soft taco with no more complaints. I ate mine as a taco salad, heavy on the salad and free of the shells and tortillas.

Next, I busted out the new Jillian DVD and got to work. That woman is not playing. The 20 minute workout was tough but not too long. I was really glad that she didn’t yell at me though because she scares me on t.v.

Anywho, sorry about this lllooonnnggg post, but it was a pretty good day and I felt like sharing. I will be hitting the sack after this as I attempt to start tomorrow off with a 4am run before early duty. Hope you have a good rest of the week.

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

 

5 Responses to “Presidential Playdates”

  1. Lora February 19, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    I was JUST thinking that we need to walk with Jennifer next time! Let me know next time y’all go walk, I have a different schedule sometimes but I would love to join! nice job on the 30DS….love Jillian!!

    • jaimebyram February 20, 2013 at 3:01 am #

      I will let you know. I know we’d have a blast.

  2. Laura Boswell February 19, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    Yay, can’t wait to hear your recipe tomorrow because Shane is making fun of me because I’ve been eating pancakes so much lol. Such a cute picture too!

    • jaimebyram February 20, 2013 at 3:04 am #

      That’s funny. I wish I had more time in the mornings to do the pancakes. I think you may like the new recipe (not sure if it fits in the paleo diet though). I needed something besides omelets that were quick and easy before work.

  3. Laura Boswell February 19, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    Dang it, I don’t think my comment went through. I am so excited about you posting another recipe so I can eat something other than pancakes lol.

Leave a Reply

