My Fitness Pals + Weigh-in Wednesday

13 Feb

Hey there people!  It’s Wednesday and you know that means.  Weigh Day!  This could be a good or a bad thing, so it’s a little scary, but it is always something to look forward to since it reminds me of how hard I’ve worked that week or not.  I’m linking up with Erin and Alex to share my results of this week’s weigh-in.  When you finish checking out my results, head on over to see some of the other awesome results.

button

We all know that it’s easier to accomplish your fitness goals with a little love and support.  As far as support is concerned, my motto is “the more, the merrier”.  This week I decided to fill you in on some of My Fitness Pals that are aiding me in my goal for perfection a healthy lifestyle.

Up first is my hubby.  I’ve told you that we’re brutally honest with each other.  No, he is not on the health wagon with me, but he does support me and will tell me things that I don’t even think I want to hear.  Even if I don’t want to hear things like “Is that cookie on your diet?”, I know that it helps me during my weak moments.  He’s not mean about it, but he knows that I want to hear it, even if I grumble and get a little rude about it at that moment when I am about to overindulge.

Next up is you guys.  It helps me a lot knowing that I’m going to be posting this info for millions a couple of people to read.  I’m working hard and I like to hear encouragement from others, whether it be in real life or on the web.

I’ve also been searching for some yummy alternatives to the fattening things that I was consuming prior to the start of my journey.  I have tried to cut out many things that I love such as breads, potatoes, pastas, and sweets.  It’s also important that I find foods that can fit comfortably into my schedule.  I don’t have time to slave away in the kitchen for hours every day.  My friend Melissa told me about a protein bar that she found with a small amount of sugar and a calorie count that wouldn’t break through my daily limit.  I also discovered this delicious almond butter that I love to eat with an apple.  It isn’t that bad for you and helps cure my craving for sugar.

image

I have tried to change up my salad toppings so that I don’t get bored of the combos.  Today I’m eating a salad with crab meat, parmesan cheese, and balsamic vinaigrette.  I love the combination of the sweet crab with the tangy dressing.

We are trying to cook more and eat out less.  One tool that I’m using for this is my trusty crock pot.  I always struggled with crock pot recipes that asked me to cook things for 6-8 hours because I am gone from the house fro longer periods than that each day.  My friend Angela helped me with this obstacle by giving me an awesome crock pot with a timer for my birthday.  I can set the time and temp and when it’s done, it goes into warming mode for several more hours.

Crock pot

The title of my post is inspired by my next tool.  My Fitness Pal is an app that I’ve talked about a couple of other times.  I have been using it faithfully to log my food and exercise.  It does a great job of helping me get a visual of what I am taking in and putting out.

image

It has lots of tools to help you see the breakdown of your daily and weekly totals and your weight loss progress.  I know some of you may be thinking I’m eating nothing, but I forgot to finish logging last Monday, and when you log your exercise, it subtracts it from your calorie intake.

The last fitness pal that I wanted to mention is Klyde, my dog.  He is my buddy.  He is a workout partner that is almost always up for a run.  He will get up early with me or stay out late with me.  I say “almost” because he pooped out on me yesterday morning about 1/4 of a mile into my third mile.  He never complains and he doesn’t mind my awful singing voice.

Klyde 2

I worked very hard this week to stay on track and even managed a two-a-day workout yesterday.  Since last Wednesday, I am officially down 2 more pounds!  I am super excited about this and can’t wait to continue the journey.  Klyde was even so proud of me that he gave me a five.

Klyde 4

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

4 Responses to “My Fitness Pals + Weigh-in Wednesday”

  1. Laura February 13, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

    Congratulations!!!! And I LOVE almond butter!

  2. Lora February 14, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    you are doing awesome!!!! I have got to start doing better so you don’t put me to shame!

    • jaimebyram February 14, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

      Thank you, but I guarantee I could never put you to shame with that 10k time!

  3. She's a big star February 14, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Well I hope you’re finding some support as a result of the link-up! I’m so glad to host it every week and I’ve found so many new blogs to read and so many wonderful ladies to support, including you! Good weeks, bad weeks, doesn’t matter… I’m going through the same exact things and am so glad to offer my support!

    And for the record, you’re officially my hero after rockin’ a two-a-day the other day… I’m doing good if I even get one in! 😉 Congrats on the weight loss… great week!

Leave a Reply

