Tough Stuff

12 Feb

This weekend I tackled some tough stuff.  I did some stuff that I didn’t want to do and some stuff that I REALLY didn’t want to do. No matter had bad I didn’t want to do them, I knew I had to get It done.

On Saturday, Bennett and I met my mom for lunch. She let him choose where we ate and he picked McDonald’s.  I really didn’t want to eat there.  When I think McDonald’s, I think fattening stuff that’s going to negate everything  I’ve been working so hard for.  I also think of my favorite meal that helped me gain this weight that I want to lose so badly, 10 piece chicken nuggets with BBQ and DDP (BBQ sauce and a Diet Dr. Pepper).  I ended up ordering a grilled chicken Caesar salad.  It was ok, but it didn’t break the calorie bank so I was happy.

Saturday night Chris and Bennett passed out early on me, so I decided to head to the gym and get a workout in.  I figured I would be better off going to the gym and burning a few calories instead of sitting around by myself and consuming double what I could burn.  Did I want to do this? No, not really.  It was even worse that I didn’t get there until just before 10:00 pm so the place was deserted except for one ginormous body builder.  Creeepppyyy! But in the end, I was pleased that I took the time to squeeze that extra workout into the week.

I didn’t want to do these things, but I got over it and am glad I did.  I would be way disappointed in myself had I caved for the 10 piece or sitting around at the house.  But what came next was the thing I REALLY didn’t want to do.

I had been wanting to talk to someone about something for about the last 6-8 months.  It has been weighing on me so heavily.  I really think that it was causing me a lot of stress that was contributing to arguments between me and the hubby, major emotional eating, and a crazy feeling that I wanted to give up and just stop fighting.  I had just become complacent with the situation because I kinda felt that there was no hope of doing anything to fix the problem.

I never went to talk to this person because I was scared. Scared of their reaction.  Scared of their disappointment.  The longer I put off “the talk”‘, the worse my fear became.  I had been building myself up for the moment that I would approach the subject and praying for the courage to do it.

I called this person on the way to the gym but there was no answer.  My phone rang in the middle of my workout.  I went to visit with the person after I left the gym.  Although, I had tried to build myself up for the moment, I wasn’t prepared for the reaction.  The person listened as I explained the situation, asked a few questions for clarification, and went on to help me work through the problem.

I feel kinda bad Like I underestimated this person’s ability to deal with me.  I am so proud of this person for dealing with it this way.  I am also very thankful to and for this person and want to tell them I appreciate it more than they will ever know.  I just hope I can repay the kindness someday.

The moral of this whole post is to face your “tough stuff” head on. You’ll feel so much better if you just do whatever it is that you’re trying to avoid. It’s easier to do it now than later and you may be pleasantly surprised at the turnout.

So here’s to the rest of the week and any tough stuff that might be headed our way.  Hopefully, we can find the courage to face it head on.

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

One Response to “Tough Stuff”

  1. Laura February 12, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

    Great post. I try to put off the tough stuff too, and usually it’s worse in my head than it actually is once I finally do it. Great job not giving in to the nuggets and hitting the gym late at night! Bed would have been calling my name lol.

Leave a Reply

