Random Schmandom

9 Feb

Did that make any sense? Probably not.  That’s ok though because half of the stuff that has come out of my mouth this week has been unintelligible.  I swear my brain cells are fried.  I thought I’d let you in on a couple of things that we’ve been up to this week.  I’m going to apologize now if it makes no sense.  I am SO stinkin’ tired tonight.  Why don’t I go to bed? Because I’m busy procrastinating decorating a cake right now. Thank you very much!

I am so glad it’s Friday! This has been one of those never-ending weeks that comes just before another never-ending week.  This was progress report week in my school system (you know I’m a procrastinator so of course I was still working on them Tuesday when they were going home that afternoon).  Tuesday and Thursday night we had after-school parent-teacher conferences.  I had to stay home from work Wednesday with Bennett because his asthma decided to flare up. It took a couple of days to get it under control, but I think we’ve beat it this time without an ER visit. Not to mention, I’ve been trying really hard to make my healthy breakfasts, lunches, and home cooked dinners while also visiting the gym a couple of nights this week (thought I’d throw that out there because I’m pretty proud right now).

Chris sent me a message yesterday at work to let me know it’s time to sign Bennett up for his first season of baseball. I don’t think we ever expected our 4 year old to be out on the field, but we’re getting the opportunity to play on a team with a bunch of boys and coaches that we’re friends with so I think it will be a good starting experience for him.  Chris is really excited because he has a major love for the game.  He played competitive traveling ball when he was younger and swears that those were some of the best memories and friends he ever made.  Anyways, I’m trying to keep him level headed about the situation because, let’s face it, the boy is half mine and I never played a day of ball in my life.  I see little glimpses of my baseball expertise when Bennett ducks away from the ball when he’s playing catch with his daddy, but he’s trying to get better and he seems to be pretty good when it comes to batting. No matter what, we just want him to have fun.

We went to pick up some balls to practice last night and Chris grabbed a set of bases.  When we got home, he set up home plate and pitched to B for about 30 minutes before bed (we’re the crazy parents who encourage our kid to play ball in the house). He kept giving B tips on how to stand and hold the bat to get the best swing.  You can only imagine how well this was going with a 3 year old.  I was so proud of my honey when he had the idea to put stickers on the floor to give B a visual.  Maybe it’s the teacher in me, but I was so impressed by this.  I thought it was the cutest thing (I’ll hate it though when I realize the stickers don’t want to come off my floor).

image

Chris has been awesome this week. He even came home Wednesday after work and commenced to doing laundry when he found B and me asleep on the couch. After dinner, he helped put away the leftovers and then washed all of the dishes.  This is amazing for him because he has a weak stomach and an overly sensitive gag reflex that conveniently gets in the way of a lot of things I’d like him to help with.  He then went on to give B a bath and dress him for bed while I got ready to head to the gym.

Back to our trip to pick up practice balls (told you I’d be random, but didn’t tell you I’d jump around so much). I separated from the boys to grab a few ingredients for a cake and cupcakes I’m making tonight. While I was gone, they found a new ball for Klyde. I believe it’s called a Nylabone. It has cuts in the sides to let you put treats in the middle.  It also has grooves and cutouts all over the ball so you can fill them with peanut butter.  I love when we find a new toy that makes my 7 year old dog dash around the house like a puppy. I couldn’t resist snapping a picture of my oversized baby.

image

I’m hoping to go to the gym tomorrow so that I can get back on track for not having time or energy to go yesterday or today.  Hopefully, I can keep up my streak of dropping a pound or so when I weigh in next Wednesday.  If not, we can blame it on this oven full of chocolate whose smell is wafting throughout my house.

image

Yes, I did pass up the scrap cake last weekend, but it wasn’t chocolate and this stuff has a hypnotic pull on me.

Since I’m getting up really early to finish decorating these scrumptious beauties, I’m going to hit the sack.  Hope y’all have a wonderful weekend!

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

 

 

 

One Response to “Random Schmandom”

  1. Laura February 9, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    That was so smart and sweet of him to us the stickers. Oh gosh thanks for including those pics of the chocolate lol. That’s great that you still got workouts in. Sometimes I just want to go to sleep instead lol.

Leave a Reply

