Superbowl Sunday Funday

4 Feb

Ok, I know it’s Wednesday, but I typed this up Sunday after having a couple drinks, so I was scared to post it without proofreading it Monday morning.  The thing is that I’ve had a super-packed week already and haven’t gotten another chance to took at it until now. Since I’m home with a sick boy and I didn’t want this post to be never ending, I’m going to finish it in another post with my Weigh-in Wednesday link up.

DSC00734

Today is one of these days of the year that doesn’t really count as a holiday, but we Americans have turned it into one.  It’s kind of like St. Patrick’s Day.  I don’t even think Irish people enjoy St. Patrick’s Day as much as Americans.  We’ve taken that day and turned it into a day for drinking green beer and and getting kisses from strangers.  I love some Silky O” Sullivan’s on Beale for St.Patrick’s Day, but it’s really nothing but a drunkfest with a couple of dueling pianos.

The same is true for Superbowl Sunday. This day is totally blown out of proportion.  I don’t even pay attention to pro football during the season, but you better believe I’m cooking it up for the Superbowl. I get all excited because of the hype and the fun of hanging out with our friends.

I had no preference for who won this game.  I could even argue a reason why I thought either team should win.  I really wanted the 49ers to win because I was mad at the Ravens for beating the Broncos.  Remember, I’m a Tennessee fan and most any Tennessee fan will always pull for Peyton Manning against any team. I also thought that it would be cool for the Ravens to win since it was Ray Lewis’s last game ever and I thought it would be cool for him to end on a high note.  So anyways, I guess Ray Lewis will always have a great memory of his last game and I will probably always hold a grudge against the 49ers for not teaching the Ravens a lesson for messing with my boy Peyton.

I did a great job of sticking to my diet for the majority of the weekend.  I worked out pretty hard yesterday and didn’t even taste my friend Amy’s houndstooth birthday cake.  We had dinner at a local Mexican restaurant for her birthday and I don’t think the chips and salsa crossed my mind once.  I’m a big queso eater so it’s a big deal to me.  Even after the 32 oz. Dos Equis I had, which you probably saw if you follow me on Instagram (@jaimebyram), I didn’t go over my calorie count for the day.

Today I had a good breakfast and, since I was anticipating some delicious bar-be-que nachos, I had a light salad for lunch.  I wasn’t so good during the Superbowl party, but I think it’s important to give yourself some room to cheat or you won’t be able to stick to the plan in the long run.

We had a great time with tons of friends and I think that’s what Superbowl Sunday is all about. It doesn’t matter if you like one of the teams or if you even know who is playing in the game.  It matters that you take the time out of your rat race schedule to enjoy life and what really matters.

I know I had a blast this Superbowl Sunday. What did you do to celebrate this holiday-that’s-not-really-a-holiday?

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

3 Responses to “Superbowl Sunday Funday”

  1. Lindsey Smith February 6, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    I don’t watch NFL either. Brian lived in Minnesota for several years and it’s a huge deal up there so I kinda like the Vikings but could care less. Lol! I am a college football SEC girl! I was pulling for the Ravens because they share my high school’s colors…CHS! LOL! I don’t think I ever even looked at the tv. I was too busy catching up with friends and it was after 8:00 before I even got there. Congrats on your hard work! I don’t see how you passed up cake! Hope Bennett feels better soon!

    • jaimebyram February 6, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      We love college football too. Our favorite team is the the Vols, but we pull for anybody in the SEC. Bennett must be feeling better judging by the way he’s running around this house. It’s amazing how fast they bounce back from the brink of death:)

  2. Laura February 6, 2013 at 10:05 pm #

    Gosh, I sure wanted some cake after seeing the houndstooth one on Fbook! I agree, you have to do 80%/20% or else you’ll go crazy lol.

Leave a Reply

