Have My Cake and Eat It Too

29 Jan

Tuna Meatloaf

Sounds disgusting doesn’t it.  A girl I work with has lost a lot of weight this school year and this is her mantra to help avoid eating things she shouldn’t.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t think I could eat something called Tuna Meatloaf.  I like tuna.  I like meatloaf.  But the idea of fish in a loaf form makes me want to vomit.  Hence the mantra.  Like I said, she’s lost a lot of weight and is lookin’ good.

When I lost my weight a few years ago, I did use diet and exercise to achieve my goal.  What I didn’t mention is the monotony of my diet.  At that point, it didn’t bother me, but looking back I wonder if that’s not part of the reason it was so hard to get back on track after my summer of the not-so-healthy cooler.  For breakfast every day, I ate whole grain quick oats with Light & Fit vanilla yogurt and one packet of sweetener to give me a little extra flavor.  Lunch had a little more variety.  I ate several varieties of Lean Pocket and a sugar free chocolate pudding.

I am not the girl that can survive on salads.  I can eat them everyday for a few weeks and then one day something snaps.  I am suddenly convinced that I am malnourished and withering away.  Keep in mind that I’m 30 pounds overweight.  An Ethiopian cannibal could survive on just my excess weight for a month.  Anyway.  I think I HAVE to have something hot to eat, so the Lean Pocket seemed like a logical, low-fat, inexpensive option. That is until you eat it for about 3 months straight.

I eventually had to create my own mantra to get myself through the meal.  I would bite into my pocket o’ preservatives and exclaim “Mmmmmmmmm, this is delicious” or something to that effect.  Everyday most certainly started with “Mmmmmmmmm.”  I was trying to convince myself that I could keep it up.  This became quite the joke in the lunchroom.

So this time around I’m really going to make a concious effort to do it right.  I mean, do I really want to go through all this hard work just to fizzle out in a few months because I’m bored with it?

This morning I made myself an omelet with chopped ham and a little bit of salsa verde on top.  Why salsa verde? Because the omelet looked a little bland and that’s what I saw in the fridge that didn’t have a ton of bad stuff and it’s made of vegetables so I figured it would be decently healthy for me.  When Chris saw it he said ” Well Dr. Seuss how do like your green eggs and ham?” I’m telling you, this man cuts me no slack.

For lunch I had a salad with crabmeat and Greek vinaigrette and a no sugar added applesauce.

Dinner time rolled around and I was ready for something really good.  I made hamburger steaks (using deer meat, aka venison for you city folk, which has a very low fat content) with sautéed mushrooms and onions.  I also made a massive pot of broccoli.  To make the boys happy, I also cooked mashed potatoes, gravy, and rolls.  Even though it was hard, I resisted the rolls and potatoes.  I did put just a little gravy on my hamburger steak.  I am a southern girl, you know?

In the end, I didn’t feel deprived at all and I still finished the day about 400 calories under my daily goal.  Not too shabby huh?

So my mission is to find some new healthy recipes that don’t take forever to cook, don’t require a lot of ingredients, don’t cost a lot of money, taste good to me and the hubby and kid.  Sound like a lot?  Well, heck yeah, but I titled the post have my cake and eat it too and that’s what I intend to do.  I’m going to try to find ideas for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks that meet my criteria.  I also like the idea of just tweaking some normal recipes/dinners like I did tonight so that the whole fam can be happy.  Because if they aren’t happy, they’re complaining, and that makes me not happy.  And if momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody in this house gonna be happy (loving the great grammar from the teacher?).

I’m going to post my first yummy and healthier than normal breakfast on my recipe page. The recipe is for Flourless Banana Pancakes with Fresh Apple Syrup.  Check it out and let me know what you think.

Tell me about one of your go-to healthy meals or ways you change your family dinner to meet your diet.

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

2 Responses to “Have My Cake and Eat It Too”

  1. Laura January 29, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

    400 calories under, woohoo!! That’s awesome. I love marksdailyapple.com. There are some awesome recipes there too. I am so checking out your banana pancake recipe! And about the stained glass, it is separate from the window but is moutning hanging from a chain in front of the window. = )

  2. Laura January 29, 2013 at 9:29 pm #

    400 calories under, woohoo!! That’s awesome. I love marksdailyapple.com. There are some awesome recipes there too. I am so checking out your banana pancake recipe! And about the stained glass, it is separate from the window but is mounted hanging from a chain in front of the window. = )

Leave a Reply

