Jump Starting My Fat Loss Journey

26 Jan

I have really been trying to get, and keep, myself on track to get back in shape.  It is one of my 2013 goals that I reaalllyyyyy want to stick to.  Two years ago Chris gave me a gym membership for Christmas. I know some of you may think that’s kinda insensitive for your man to give you this like it’s a hint that you really need to do something with the hot mess that you’ve let yourself turn into, but not me.  He gave me this because I had been talking about it forever and because I’m way too cheap to pay the sign-up fee myself, he gave me the push I needed.

I got soooo into it.  I started counting calories using My Fitness Pal, making healthier choices, and going to the gym 4-5 times per week.  I was kicking some major butt.  I was able to lose 25 pounds over the course of 4-5 months.

The problem is that I can’t find a balance between losing weight and gaining weight.  Once I surpassed my goal, I didn’t know how to maintain it.  Plus, we are lake people.  We go to Pickwick Lake a lot during the summer and stay on the boat/beach as much as possible.  Let’s just say that my cooler wasn’t filled with healthy snacks and bottles of water and leave it at that.  Also, since there was no gym near our cabin, I kinda fell out of the habit.  I did continue to run over the course of the summer, but by the time school started back in August, I had gained 10 pounds back.  Once school got going, I didn’t have time to get back into my gym routine and my unhealthy eating habits stuck around.  Between August and May, I gained back the remaining 15 pounds I had lost.

So at the beginning of the year when I decided to really try to fight this battle again, I was starting back at square one…plus a few pounds.  I was miserable-physically, mentally, and fashion wise.  Nothing in my closet fit and I promise there is a WIDE range of sizes in that thing.

I had decided to get back into some good eating habits, but I still didn’t feel up to the exercise part of it.  Let me tell you:  there is no way it’s going to work for me unless I do both parts of it.  My cousin encouraged me to get back in gear with My Fitness Pal and it definitely helps me keep things in perspective.  I’ve been making much wiser food choices and working out a couple times per week.

I don’t think I’ve lost a lot, but yesterday while I was getting ready for work, Chris told me he could tell I had slimmed down a little bit.  I didn’t ask. He just came out and said it.  And let me tell you something else: my husband and I are brutally honest with each other.  He WOULD NOT say it unless he truly meant it.  We are each other’s harshest critics.  We don’t sugar coat it because we know that even if it hurts the other’s feelings, they’ll get over it and be glad we told the truth.

I made a yummy breakfast yesterday morning, which I will be posting on my recipe page sometime in the next couple of days.  I got the idea from something I found on Pinterest and then took it a little further.  Check back for it because it was super yummy.

I went running for the first time in a long time yesterday afternoon and had the urge to go again today even though my legs were a little sore.  That’s one thing I love about working out is the good feeling I have when I’m done and the way it’s contagious and makes me want to do it over and over again.

I decided to get some of my family involved because that motivates me and is good for them so it’s a win win-win situation.  I took lots of pictures because this was B’s first time to ride his bike any farther than the length of our driveway and my mom is just now kicking things back into gear after ending her chemo treatments in late fall.

image

Please ignore Bennett’s ghetto looking bike.  He took the cover off the front pad and can’t find it.

image

Bennett and his Nan, who has just recently started going without her wig. Doesn’t she look great?

image

We’re ready for action!  Yes, the picture does look unbalanced…and yes it’s because I cropped out my fat roll.  I’ll post more unedited pictures once the roll starts shrinking a little.  And to be honest, I would have cropped out my dirty truck had it not made my picture look so pixelated.

image

I had a great picture of Klyde with Bennett and me, but he got chopped with the fat roll.  I just couldn’t make that one work.  This is him after the two of us finished 2 1/2 miles. He was pooped.  My mom and Bennett couldn’t hang, but they did finish 1 mile.

Hopefully, I’ll stick to my plan and make this extra weight melt away.  I’ll post my first results Wednesday when I link up with a bunch of other ladies that are on the same journey.

Have a great weekend.  I’m off to two birthday parties, where I will be turning down the cake.

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

 

6 Responses to “Jump Starting My Fat Loss Journey”

  1. Laura January 26, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

    Girl I am all anti cropping out the day and then my pictures look completely unbalanced. Congrats on making better choices. It’s always so hard. Can’t wait to hear your recipes and how everything is going. We are doing a lot of races this year. You should join us!

    • jaimebyram January 27, 2013 at 4:47 am #

      I’ve been thinking about signing up for a couple. My mom is trying to get a group to do a colon cancer run at Overton Park in March called Get Your Rear in Gear. That’s one that I’m definitely interested in doing.

  2. Laura January 26, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

    *about* and *fat* I am apparently on a big typo kick this weekend lol!

  3. Lora January 27, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

    great job girl!!!! and your mom looks amazing!!

  4. Lindsey Smith January 29, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

    I just started running today! I always work out but needed to start running. I forgot how much energy it gives you. Your little boy is too cute! How old is he?

    • jaimebyram January 29, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      The energy is great. Last night I could NOT go to sleep. I know it’s because of the workout. He will be 4 in April. Thank you for stopping by and for the compliment.

Leave a Reply

