1, 2, 3, 4 Get My Bootie Out the Door

23 Jan

Ok, so I wish I could get my bootie out the door in four easy steps.  The only way four has a place in my routine is the time on my phone when my alarm violently wakes me from my MUCH needed beauty rest.

I know you think I’m crazy.  It’s not really 4:00 it’s closer to 4:20, but that still stinks. In order to meet two of my 2013 goals (getting healthy and procrastinating less), I have been getting up about 30 minutes earlier to workout.  Why squeeze in a measly 30 minute workout if it makes me get up so stinking early?  Because I have no time to do it after work and still spend quality time with the fam.  Also, if I procrastinate and wait until after work, I am way less likely to actually go through with it.

I know this sounds super early to some of you, but I have to leave by 6:30 to get Bennett to the bus on time.  If I get up by 4:30, I can workout for about 30 minutes, shower by 5:30, and wake up Bennett to get him started on his sllllooowww wake up process.  After this, I get started on my beauty regimen.  When I say regimen, I mean that basically my hair must not be wet and I must have mascara so I actually look like I have eyelashes, anything more than that is just icing on the cake.  Now it’s time to get the kiddo ready, grab breakfast and lunch, and hit the door running.

I told you in another post that I’m trying not to say the word “hurry”, but this is really hard for me.  I hate to be late, but I am one of those people that is always pushing it to make it just about anywhere on time.  In fact, I set every clock ahead to help me get where I need to go on time and I set them all different so I won’t remember how much extra time I have.  Once again, I know I sound crazy.

I have been doing a good job at preparing ahead of time.  Each night I try to plan out both of our outfits, pack my lunch, and set the coffeemaker.  I don’t really know what else I can do to slice time off my morning routine.  I know some of you are thinking I should just take my shower at night so I don’t have to fool with my hair.  This is not for the naturally curly headed woman.  I will do this on a rare occasion, but I have to wear it up the next day.  You know those women who wake up in the morning and look great straight out of bed?  They brush through their hair, put on some lipgloss, and walk out the door. Yeah well, I’m not one of those.  Styling it the night before is not an option.  I would wake up looking like a pomeranian that is long overdue for a trip to the groomer.

Sometimes I do get a little sidetracked by a little bit of Facebook stalking, a major floss session, or the occasional urge to prep dinner, but I swear, no matter what I try or how much extra time I have in the morning, I always get down to the last five minutes and I am scrambling to load the truck and get B to the bus JUST IN TIME.

So I’m turning to you.  What do you do to help streamline your morning routine?  Tell what you do to speed up the process or what obstacle always seems to get in your way.  Maybe you can help me calm my early morning stress and reduce my need for that dreaded word “hurry”.

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

 

 

One Response to “1, 2, 3, 4 Get My Bootie Out the Door”

  1. Laura January 25, 2013 at 2:52 am #

    I feel like I always get sidetracked by Facebook blogging email eBay Instagram and Poshmark while I’m getting ready in the morning. Oh yeah and brushing my teeth for like 10 minutes lol. Oops. : )

Leave a Reply

