It’s a Saturday Night Special

21 Jan

I lllooovvveee my baby boy, but I can not say enough how nice it is to have a night out with the hubby without the kiddo in tow.  I love the temporary shift in personality and feeling of responsibility I feel when I get to hang out one-on-one with my honey.  We dated for about 10 years before B came into the picture and it has not been the same since.

I LOVE my life now and wouldn’t trade one second of the time my family gets to spend together, but I think it strengthens my family when Chris and I get a chance to spend some time alone so we can remember why we wanted to start this family in the first place.

We started the afternoon off with a trip to the movies.  We are both fans of Quentin Tarantino so we went to see his most recent movie, Django, with Jamie Foxx.  Tarantino never disappoints.  I love a movie with a little bit of romance and a good dose of humor.  Chris likes an action packed movie with Tarantino’s over-the-top gore.  I think we will probably be adding this one to our collection once it comes out on DVD.

After the movie, we wanted something good to eat so we went to a restaurant that my brother first introduced me to.  It’s called Old Venice Pizza Co.  This restaurant has a menu that goes beyond pizza.  I love the atmosphere and decor.

Most restaurants have a drink special during the week, but Old Venice has a great deal on Saturday nights, too.   You can get a bottle of their house wine, which normally costs around $22, for $6.50 when you spend $25 or more on food.  One glass of the house wine typically costs $6, so that is a steal.

image

We ordered a bottle of the Cabernet and I was pleasantly surprised by the great taste.  I was also glad to see that the Fetzer brand of wine is made at an eco-friendly winery that prides itself on sustainability.  In case you didn’t know, I love to try to ease my carbon footprint on the earth, even if it is by drinking a bottle of wine:).  It ain’t easy being green.

The food was fantastic, too.  I decided to stick to my diet by ordering the Shrimp, Crab, and Avocado Salad.  It had mixed greens, arugula, cherry tomatoes, asparagus, yummy grilled shrimp, crab meat, and lemon herb vinaigrette.  It tasted great and really hit the spot.  Chris had their famous lasagna and said it was wonderful.

image

I would definitely recommend you stop by if you’re ever in Memphis near the Oak Court Mall.

Other than my date night, I have enjoyed this beautiful weather and my long weekend.  I’ve got one more day to prepare for a four day work week and I intend on making it a productive one.  Hope you’ve enjoyed your weekend as well.

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

6 Responses to “It’s a Saturday Night Special”

  1. Laura January 21, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    I love old Venice but have never tried that salad. You better believe it will be on my plate next time! I didn’t know about that wine special either. I know where I’m going next time!!

  2. Mary Margaret January 22, 2013 at 4:26 am #

    Hi Jaime! Thanks for stopping by my blog! I am a HUGE fan of Old Venice! I love their manicotti. Probably one of my favorite pasta dishes anywhere! Looking forward to following along with your blog!

    -Mary Margaret
    mmcockroft.blogspot.com

  3. Lora January 22, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

    I am dying to go see that movie!!!

  4. Angela January 23, 2013 at 1:12 am #

    Old Venice is on our “Restaurant Bucket List”. Don loves it, but I haven’t ever been there. I will have to tell him that you like it too. Maybe we could try to do a double date!

  5. Laura January 31, 2013 at 4:36 am #

    I love that winery! It is right next to my hometown!!! 🙂

    I came here looking for your flourless pancake recipe (Laura B sent me), and was pleasantly surprised to see your post with this wine!

    • jaimebyram January 31, 2013 at 4:47 am #

      I really enjoyed it and that’s so cool! I will be having another bottle soon for sure.

Leave a Reply

