Snow Days and Slugburgers

16 Jan

I would love to tell you about the awesome day that my family had sledding and building snowmen  on our snow day.  Yes, I was so excited to wake up to a text from my friend Angela this morning saying our school was closed for the day.  Unfortunately, there was no snow to play in.  Not. One. Bit.  Our school system closed due to ice that formed on some back roads and bridges.  Oh well, we’ll take what we can get.

It worked out pretty good that Chris didn’t have to work today either. So, being the daredevil he is, he went out before Bennett and I got up and picked up doughnuts for breakfast.  Not the best thing for my get healthy goal, but I never get fresh doughnuts from the bakery so I definitely let myself indulge.

Otherwise, we did nothing today.  It was very nice.  We watched a few movies from the Redbox and just lounged all day.  Even Klyde, our dog, decided to find a comfy piece of furniture to inhabit.

image

Now I’m going to tell you about the cheap, easy dinner that I threw together in no time.  I am fairly new to this dish.  I was introduced to it about a year and a half ago.  This is an infamous main course in Mississippi though.  No, I’m not from Mississippi, but my husband’s family has a cabin at Pickwick Lake and we frequently go to Corinth to go shopping .  The Slugburger is one of those foods that a town can be famous for.  You know, like BBQ in Memphis or pizza in Chicago.  The story behind the Slugburger is pretty interesting.   It looks and sounds completely disgusting.

You can buy it in any grocery store down in Corinth and the surrounding areas.  It comes in packages just like ground beef.  Before you cook it, it looks so blah!

image

From start to finish, dinner took about 15 minutes.  Chris eats his the traditional way with onion, pickle, and mustard.  I spruce mine up a bit with a slice of cheese and nix the onion.  The Slugburger has the consistency of a tuna or salmon patty and tastes great.

image

If you ever pass through Corinth, Mississippi, you should swing by and grab one.  You just may be tempted to buy a couple of packages to put in the cooler to cook after you get back home.

So that is the end of my not-so-snowy snow day. Now, I’m just sitting on the couch hoping for another one tomorrow.

Have you ever eaten anything that sounded or looked disgusting only to end up loving it?

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

2 Responses to “Snow Days and Slugburgers”

  1. Laura January 16, 2013 at 11:03 pm #

    That pic of Klyde in the chair is tripping me out. My mom has a cabin in Pickwick too. Can’t wait to go more this summer. Let me know when y’all go and I’ll have to try a slugburger!

    • jaimebyram January 17, 2013 at 3:20 am #

      Klyde thinks he is a lap dog and loves to take over Bennett’s stuff. I’ll let you know about Pickwick. We’re down there a lot during the summer.

Leave a Reply

