De-stressing Door Hangers

15 Jan

Everybody should have a release.  My husband relaxes by hunting with friends.  I de-stress in several ways.   I enjoy  exercising, reading, hanging out with friends, and being lazy around the house.  I, like many other women, also love to indulge in a little retail therapy every now and then, but I’ve also told you I’m a cheapskate, which leads to my next de-stress strategy.  I love to do crafts and make things myself that I see in stores and online.

I don’t know about where you live, but here in the south burlap door hangers are very popular decorations, ranking almost as high as toilet yard art (just kidding, southerners don’t really do that…well maybe I’ve seen it a time or two).  I see them in cute little boutiques everywhere.

While planning out Christmas gifts for all of Bennett’s teachers and bus drivers, my friend Sheila gave me the idea of trying to make some of these burlap decorations as gifts.  Anyone who is looking for an adorable, inexpensive gift should give this a try.  I ended up making about ten of these as gifts.  I made some small ornament sized decorations and several large door hangers. Bennett’s teachers all received some type of Christmas themed door hanger, such as a stocking, ornament, or gift.  I tried to personalize each one with their initial or family name.  I even made this Tennessee football door hanger for my friend Angela.

image

These things were so much fun and definitely gave me plenty of time to relax once I had my mind set on doing them for so many different people.  They turned out great and seemed to   be well-received.

My friend Julie even asked me to make her a snowman for the month of January.

image

The possibilities are endless when it comes to what you could make or what occasion they could be used as a gift.  I even think it would be fun to combine this with another one of my de-stressing strategies  and make them over a few glasses of wine with the girls.  You could spend a relaxing night dishing with your friends and at the end of the night you would have a cute personalized decoration for your house.

If you have any questions about how I made them, let me know and I’ll fill you in on all the tips and tricks I figured out as I went along.

Let me know how you relax and de-stress.

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

4 Responses to “De-stressing Door Hangers”

  1. Jordan Watkins January 15, 2013 at 5:42 am #

    I Love these! I have wanted to make them but did not know how and just have not taken the time to look on pinterest. How did you make them? Are they easy to do? I don’t get much crafty time with 2 nosey little ones and a husband that also hunts. Great Job and Great Gift Idea! 🙂

    • jaimebyram January 16, 2013 at 3:50 am #

      Thanks lady! They are so easy. When I took that one to school, a couple of other girls asked me to make them one. So I was thinking that I’d post a tutorial to show the steps I take when making them. Hopefully, I’ll have this up by the weekend.

  2. Laura January 15, 2013 at 10:58 am #

    That snowman is so so cute!!!

    • jaimebyram January 16, 2013 at 3:47 am #

      Thank you. I’m planning on making one for my door soon.

Leave a Reply

