Fun Friday and a Canadian

12 Jan

Ok, so I know it’s Saturday, but I never got a chance to sit down and post yesterday. I had a great day!

I decided yesterday morning that I wanted to straighten my hair so I could get a good look at it. It was the one dry day that was sandwiched between a projected four days of rain. Anyone with curly hair knows that the forecast is vital to hair style planning. You ladies with straight hair may wish for curly hair sometimes, but just imagine spending 45 minutes to straighten your hair only to walk outside and the slightest hint of moisture change your hard work to a poodle do. Not fun! It looked pretty good and I think the color is growing on me.

DSC00713

Since I spent more time styling my hair, I didn’t have time to fix coffee or breakfast before I took B to the bus. On the way back home, I decided to stop at the gas station and pick up a big cup of coffee. I exchanged pleasantries with an older truck driver that had stopped in for the same thing. We talked about how glad we were that it was Friday and how hard it is to get back in the groove after Christmas break. I followed the man to the register and before I got a chance to pay, he added my cup of joe to his tab. Talk about a surprising friendly gesture.

I then went to school and had a very productive day. We even got to go to recess…without jackets…in January. Hallelujah! I know you think the kids were loving this, but you just don’t understand how much teachers love recess too. After being cramped in a small room with 21 little people calling your name a hundred times each all day long, it is a breath of fresh air, literally.

I also got a chance to use this great deal. I found it on a great site called My Memphis Mommy. You can get 99 prints for $0.99 on Snapfish through the end of today. Just use the code PENNY2013 and pay the shipping. The best part? You can use it an unlimited number of times. That’s pretty big for all of us picture printing procrastinators.

Last night we had a surprise 30th birthday for my friend Brian, who I have known pretty much my entire life. There is nothing like having dinner with 30 or 40 of your closest friends while one waiter frantically runs around trying to keep up with everyone’s requests WITH NO BARTENDER TO ASSIST. May not sound THAT bad to you, but with this group, a bartender is an integral key to success. Anyways, because we love each other so much we still had a blast and continued the party back at the birthday boy’s house.

DSC00715

I promise I’m almost done rambling, but before I’m done I want to tell you one of my favorite parts about a small town. I grew up with an awesome group of friends, whose parents are also friends. I married a man who was in this group of friends, so we never have to split time between “his friends” and “her friends”. Now when our friends get together I watch tons of kids run around becoming “friends whose parents are friends” and I think that is awesome, not only because it’s just cool, but also because we won’t ever be afraid to bust each other’s kids out for doing the things we did. Life in my small town means my friends are like family. And I think that is pretty freaking amazing!

I got up this morning wanting to tell about my fun Friday. Everyday I check to see how many people have read my blog that day. I am a goal oriented person and I always love to beat my own records. On my stats page, I always see a map of the world with the U.S. lit up because that’s where all of my readers are from. I’ve REALLY been hoping that one day another country would be lit up. This morning when I looked, Canada was orange! I am super excited about this. So, Canadian, if you are reading now, thanks for stopping by. You just made my day.

What’s your favorite thing about the place you live? This goes for my small town friends, big city buds, and the Canadian that just made my day.

Thanks for reading,
Jaime

 

4 Responses to “Fun Friday and a Canadian”

  1. Laura January 13, 2013 at 12:53 am #

    I love your hair color!! I never thought one day we wouldn’t be blondes anymore lol.

    • jaimebyram January 13, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

      Thank you! I know It’s hard to imagine myself as anything different, but as I’ve gotten older, my hair gotten darker and darker.’ Just another sign that I’m not a spring chicken anymore:).

  2. Lora January 14, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    ahhhh! your friends with kids that are friends make me wish I would have gone to Munford instead of TRA! all my life long friends are all scattered and FH isn’t from T county so we dont have that! nice job on the free coffee and I am loving your hair!

    • jaimebyram January 15, 2013 at 3:39 am #

      It’s called “Getting the heck outta Dodge.” My girlfriends did it and my guy friends stuck around. I then inherited their wives as friends. I’ve actually been thinking about doing a post on my inherited girlfriends.

Leave a Reply

