A Wild Hair to Save Money

10 Jan

Have you ever had an idea pop into your head and then it won’t go away?  I do it all the time.  I am one of those people that will try just about anything once.

I am a cheapskate.  I love to try to find things that I can do myself to save money.  So when  I found this tutorial on Pinterest, I couldn’t wait to give it a try. I was so proud of myself. Bennett did a great job of sitting still while I hacked away at his shaggy head. It turned out so good. It may be a little more tricky on a boy with straight hair, but the curls he got from his momma are good for camouflaging any mistakes that I might have made. He is now back to his adorable self.

Well now, of course I couldn’t just stop there!

I’m sure you’ve noticed in some of my previous posts that I had a major root problem.  I colored my hair last May with a permanent hair color, which I have not done in a very long time.  I couldn’t really decide what I wanted to do with my hair so I just let it grow. I like to think that I’m being “hip” with the ombré look:)

Two days ago I decided to color my hair dark brown all over.  I thought it would be a nice change for the winter and get rid of my overgrown root system.  Apparently, dark brown color turns dishwater blonde roots dark brown, but turns your blonde ends a bright auburn/red color.

image

So…I still have roots, only now they blend a little bit better. At least I bought a temporary color this time. I think it will be a little while before I work on myself again, but it is kind of nice to live life on the wild side.

Have you ever had any DIY flops?  Let me know if you have any tricks to save money.

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

3 Responses to “A Wild Hair to Save Money”

  1. Lora January 10, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    I really like that color on you! Super cute!

    • jaimebyram January 10, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

      Thanks! It makes my eyes look really blue.

  2. Laura January 11, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    I’m the same way. I’ll try anything once lol! I’ve used temporary red color over blonde and it ended up all fading back to natural brown for the most part after a few months. When I was trying to get or all back brown years ago I died it brown a couple times but the end quickly faded out too. I look back at pics and can tell it was kind of two toned lol. : )

Leave a Reply

