Weekend Warrior-Not What You’re Thinking

5 Jan

I, Jaime, am a self-proclaimed weekend warrior. This is not for the reason that I party non-stop from the time I leave work on Friday until I go to bed Sunday night.  I am a weekend warrior because I am in a constant battle with myself.

You know the angel and devil that sit on each shoulder? Well this is what mine fight over all weekend:

Do I

a) use my time off wisely and clean the house, prepare meals for next week, and work on school stuff that’s coming up or

b) vege out on the couch all weekend, play with Bennett, catch up on the shows I’ve recorded, and just basically take full advantage of every second that I’m not required to be at work?

Normally, I tend to lean more towards option B.  However, my recently posted goals for 2013 stated that I would be trying to procrastinate less.  So far, I’ve done a decent job with this.  On New Year’s Day, I made a huge pot of soup to last throughout the week.  Since Chris has been working out of town, Bennett and I have been able to eat this for dinner almost every night and I’ve had lunch prepacked everyday.  I’ve put out our outfits each night before bed so that I, hopefully, wouldn’t end up trying on 15 different things in the morning.  I even stayed at school until almost 7:00 last night to get ready for my substitute next week instead of just emailing one of my friends at school a plan that was typed Sunday night.

Now, I’m going to admit something that I’m not proud of.  I still have not taken down my Christmas decorations.  I hate when people leave their decorations up.  I believe that they go up afer Thanksgiving and come down by New Year’s Eve, but I just haven’t done it.  I know that sounds completely lazy.  I’m not even really sure why I haven’t taken them down, but it WILL be done this weekend.  I can’t take it anymore.  I have gone against my goal for 2013 and left them up until almost the second week of January. 

So, I let myself sleep until I woke up on my own (or the dog let me know he couldn’t wait to go outside any longer) and I gave myself plenty of time to procrastinate by checking my email, Facebook, and Instagram, but now is the time to get off this lazy behind and get to work.  The decorations are coming down today, this house is getting a deep (or at least surface) cleaning, and my pile of laundry is going to be depleted. 

I know I’ll feel more relaxed and prepared to enter next week knowing that I allowed myself to pick both answers on this multiple choice test. 

I hope you have a great weekend filled with a mix of option A and B!  Leave me a message and let me know which you chose.

Thanks for reading,

Jaime

6 Responses to “Weekend Warrior-Not What You’re Thinking”

  1. Laura January 6, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

    We took ours down New Year’s Day but I have seen so many people and businesses with theirs still up. I think it’s messing everyone up since they fell on weekdays.

    • jaimebyram January 6, 2013 at 5:08 pm #

      You’re probably right. We do Christmas with my mom on Christmas Eve and my step-dad, who is very OCD, takes it down before my mom even wakes up on Christmas morning. My living room looks so empty now.

  2. Jordan Watkins January 6, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

    I Love reading your Blog now! You remind me of me. LOL. Don’t feel bad my Christmas stuff is still up and it is driving me crazy. I wanted to get it all down and the house organized yesterday and it did not happen with Jason at work and 2 kids that sick it just did not happen. I hope you accomplish all your goals! 🙂

    • jaimebyram January 6, 2013 at 5:06 pm #

      Thank you! I am so glad to hear that. Sick babies can really slow a girl down. We battled Bennett’s asthma and a double ear infection over Christmas and right up to New Years, so I was definitely feeling your pain while reading your FB posts about Reese’s breathing treatments. Hope they’re feeling better and thanks for reading!

  3. Shelly Roses January 11, 2013 at 4:29 am #

    I am proud of you! ha Your suppose to leave it up till after the New Year or you will have bad luck:)

    • jaimebyram January 12, 2013 at 12:02 am #

      Oh good! Guess that’s been my problem the last couple of years.

Leave a Reply

