Hi Ho Hi Ho It’s Back to Work I Go

2 Jan

image

 

 

Today was my first day back after a much-needed Christmas break. The end of the fall semester was filled with events, deadlines, and the start of after-school tutoring, which I do twice a week. I was definitely feeling the stress and was super excited for the start of the break. I love having time to finish my Christmas shopping, celebrate the holidays, and, of course, spend time with my family.

You’ve just read the pros of having a fantastic break from school. Now for the cons (insert dramatic sound effects)…
This fabulous time off work spoils me so bad that I struggle with things like waking up with an alarm, getting dressed before noon, dropping off my baby, and going to a job that expects me to follow a schedule and dress code everyday (just kidding).

I really didn’t want to get out of bed this morning, but once I got going I ended up having a pretty good day. I made time to cook a real breakfast for Bennett, pack my lunch, and thaw my truck doors in time to make it to work with a whopping 30 seconds to spare. Needless to say, the adrenaline rush of trying to sign-in on time had me buzzed enough to ALMOST make my coffee obsolete.

We had two separate training sessions today that both offered information sandwiched between a few good laughs. The icing on top of today’s cake was definitely the hour-long lunch, which is about 35-40 minutes longer than our normal inhalation of food, and the afternoon session ended earlier than expected.

Normally I would have stayed about an hour longer to work on the lesson plans that are due tomorrow morning, but I started feeling kinda sick (probably from all the healthy eating that I attempted to do today). So, I hopped in my truck and zipped straight to the babysitter’s house to scoop up my Stinkbug aka Bennett. He must have read my mind because as soon as we walked in the door he asked for jammies and a snuggle. There’s nothing like a little snuggle with my buddy to make me feel better (and a bit of healthy snacking in the form of Pringles and peanut butter crackers). So much for staying under my calorie goal for the day, but that’s ok because so far 2013 is off to a decent start.

Tomorrow my kiddos come back to school and we’ll be working on their goals for the new year. Two more days and it’ll be the weekend!

Is 2013 starting off as well for you? Tell me something good about your year so far.

Happy Hump Day!
Jaime

6 Responses to “Hi Ho Hi Ho It’s Back to Work I Go”

  1. Michele Stephens January 3, 2013 at 1:21 am #

    Good job Jaime!!! This was very positive & inspiring! Yes I gotta get my butt up and back on a Hercules tomorrow too 😦 ugh! Happy new year cuz! Love ya!

    • jaimebyram January 3, 2013 at 1:26 am #

      Thank ya ma’am! Hoping this blog might help me stay a little more focused on my goals this year.

  2. Laura January 3, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Yay, so happy you’re blogging!!

    • jaimebyram January 3, 2013 at 11:46 pm #

      I’m loving it so far! Woke up this morning with a topic on the brain.

  3. Lora January 3, 2013 at 2:42 pm #

    I’m so excited that you started a blog! now I can stalk you!!! oh the teacher life….sometimes I wish I would have been a teacher, and then I realize that my own kids drive me nuts! I’ll stick to working with numbers all day instead of tiny humans. 🙂

    • jaimebyram January 3, 2013 at 11:49 pm #

      Thanks for the inspiration. Kids are definitely a challenge, but I would go blind staring at computers and numbers all day!

Leave a Reply

